The begining of my love of Sole

Gotta catch 'em all.
Gotta catch ’em all.

I’m into sneakers. I’ve been into sneakers, shoes, kicks, trainers, runners, tennis, whatever you call them for a long time.

I always thought a nice pair of shoes were something to be appreciated, but the inception of desire was when I first laid eyes on that special pair.

It was my sophomore year of high school.  I alighted the bus and made my way through campus to the lunchroom doors.  In my way was a small crowd. Curious to see what was going on, I joined the throng.

I was dumbfounded by what I saw.  The only way to describe them was a pair of marshmallow moon boots.  The shoes were made of a bright royal blue material; something like high-tech polyurethane.  There was a semi-translucent sole with circular indentations meant to enhance grip and traction.  At first I couldn’t tell what brand shoe they were, until I spotted a small white swoosh near the toe area. There is so much more about the shoe that boggled my mind, but I just don’t have the time to share it all.

I had to know more.  My buddy gave me the skinny: Nike Air Foamposite One, the newest and most innovative in footwear tech to come out of Beaverton, OR.  My mind was blown; how could create such a thing?

I was determined to get them, alas my heart sunk when I found out the retail price: $179.99.  I just started working during summers, but that price was way out of my reach.  The same buddy told me he knew a dude who bought two pairs: one to rock (wear) and another to hoop in (play basketball).  I was incredulous, but inspired nonetheless.  I wasn’t able to raise the necessary funds for my pair until sometime later.  I scoured virtually every obscure sneaker spot in NYC looking for that elusive size 11.5.  While hunting, other Nike offerings caught my attention.  At my height during College, I had over thirty pairs of sneakers in my rotation.  It’s was where virtually all my money went.  I didn’t care; I was like Ash Ketchum.  My “sole” purpose was to acquire.

I eventually did score my pair of Nike Air Foamposite Ones.  They are the up there, along with my current rotation; a fraction of what it used to be.  The quantity may have decreased due to new priorities (wife, children, Cheez-its, etc.) but the love still remains.

What was/is your love, and what started it all for you?

 

2 thoughts on “The begining of my love of Sole

  1. You should listen to Macklemore’s song Wing$. It’s all about his love affair with sneakers, specifically Jordans.

    At one point in my life I was obsessed with finding the perfect jacket. I hate being too hot or too cold so the quest for the perfect jacket has been something that’s always in the back of my mind. At one time, in college, I had more jackets than I had shirts to wear. That’s when I knew I had a problem. Since then I’ve definitely toned down on the outerwear, but I still search for that illusive perfect light jacket that works in any kind of weather.

    Almost like the perfect sneaker…?

    1. First off, thanks for your bravery in being first to post a comment.

      Second, I can totally relate. It’s almost like you’re “sole” (see what I did there) isn’t complete until you get that perfect whatever. It a fun kind of adventure, as long as you don’t become obsessed (which is a blurry line).

      Hopefully you will find it, but at least you can enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

